How I Intend to Make 2015 the BEST YEAR EVER

I’m slightly *cough, completely, cough* obsessed with the movie Tangled. For my eighteenth birthday party (as a college freshman, mind you) I had a Tangled themed party where all my friends ate off of Rapunzel plates and we smashed a Flynn Rider piñata. These sort of shenanigans have become commonplace in my life –  as such, I’ve found that Rapunzel’s celebratory “Best Day Ever” phrase has become a regular occurrence in my daily vocabulary. So, in honor of the new year, I thought it only right to share how I plan on utilizing all my “best days ever” to create the best year ever!  Without further ado… my realistic resolutions for 2015:

Nurturing my Gentle Spirit & Being Vulnerable

Being vulnerable and gentle, in any scale, is a terrifying feat. Sharing your heart often feels more like signing your life away than reaching out to the people that you love – not to mention the fact that society has ostracized being vulnerable as nothing more than a burden which impedes the experience of life. I’ve listened to those lies, and I’ve realized that I’m really good at being really honest about/with other people, but I don’t allow myself that same liberty. So this year I’m resolving to put a stop to it. As intimidating as it is, this year to be a learning experience in how to cultivate a gentle spirit. It’s something that I have to really work at, seeing as my natural disposition is to punch before asking and pull before giving – but this year, in it’s newness gives me the basis to begin to nurture my nature – even if it’s a different part of it than I’m used to.

Cultivating Relationships

As a freshman in college my life seems to be a steady stream of introductions, as such, I find myself locked in this world of perpetual acquaintance-ship mirroring the “week of welcome” rush. As 2015 will encompass the tail end of my freshman year and the beginning of my sophomore year, I believe that it’s the perfect time to begin understanding which relationships are important to me and which relationships I want to spend time cultivating. Whether this is grabbing coffee with the girls, or giving up a night to play video games with the guys, or making “family dinner” so that we all can hang out – I want relationships to be a primary focus this year.

Spending More Time with God & In His Word

In November I finished my study of Jeremiah, and realized how interested I am in the grand story of the Bible, so I decided to start from the very beginning. In 2015 I would like to read every book of the Bible, not necessarily cover to cover, but every book.  Through the past couple years I’ve realized the hunger that I have for God’s word, and the understanding of it, and I want this to be the year that gives me that foundation. In addition to that, I want to be intentional with the time that I spend with the Lord – whether that be through quiet time or periods of prayer. I want to rest in his pursuit and I want to strive to pursue him as ceaselessly as he pursues me.

Giving my Summer to God

I’ve decided to be a part of a short term mission this summer where I move to San Diego, California for ten weeks… and I am beyond thrilled!! To give you a basic run down (because I plan to write an in-depth run down in the future) I am moving to California for the summer to share the gospel with the people of San Diego by becoming a part of their culture – this means getting a job in the city, living in the community, and assisting a church plant in the area. It’s an amazing opportunity, and I am excited to share the experience with all of you, and even more excited to walk by faith into an unforgettable summer devoted to the Lord through Resonate Church’s Elevate in 2015.

Writing for Wonderlust

Here we are, a brand new creative outlet in the new year and I couldn’t be more excited to watch it grow. This year is going to be a blogging-blitz of adventure tales, musings, and praises and I am excited for you to be a part of it with me! There are so many different series that I am excited to share with you – my first being “Imprints” which will be launching at the end of this month!

I’m thrilled by the prospect of this new blog. There are so many stories to be told, and adventures to be had, and they can all be a part of this corner of the web, and that’s more thrilling than anything that I could hope for. 2015 is a new year full of new opportunities, and I’m excited to take Wonderlust along with me.

IMG_0171

So let’s make this the best year ever!

Leave a Reply

