The New Rig

This Christmas I finally got my hands on my new baby – a Canon Rebel T3i, complete with some fancy bundle perks – including a tripod and two lenses. It’s pretty safe to say that I’m in love. I couldn’t wait to take it out, so I took some of my family for an adventure, and these are a couple select shots from the day. I’m so looking forward to seeing what this baby can do!

12-31-14.1 12-31-24.2

Our first stop was Gonzaga University’s St. Aloysius Cathedral where I snapped these quick shots. In the editing process I was enthralled by the vision of them in black and white (I’m a little partial to black and white photography).

12-31-14.3 12-31-14.4

In trying to light these prayer candles I also lit my finger on fire – I’d say a good three times. But it was worth it to grab these shots. Once they were lit, the candles were a vision of the serenity of the moment humbled before God to present my requests and praises to him.

12-31-14.5 12-31-14.6

Seeing as it was New Year’s Eve, I wanted to be sure to capture the festivities. These are two of my favorite shots because of the excitement oozing out of those in front of me. I love that you can see the fireworks show in the screen of the man in front of me, and I love all the upturned faces in the second. It was a brisk night, but the cold was made braille by the vision of the clocktower alive with colors to ring in the new year.

12-31-14.712.31.14.812-31-14.9

My brother has recently gotten into all things photography/videography based, so I let him take the reigns for a minute to grab these shots before I stole my new baby back from him. He’s getting pretty good, and he certainly knows his way around the camera.

I hope you enjoyed these little moments. I look forward to many more adventures with this piece of equipment!

Leave a Reply

